Dirty Lasagna-It’s all in one pot

Warning the following recipe and post is a comfort food recipe. While the noodles were the only processed food I used, I can’t really say this is healthy but it is if you’re looking for some comfort food and have a victory to celebrate. I’ve always said everything in moderation, even moderation.

I love lasagna and when I can get the recipe from a friend who made the most perfect vegetarian lasagna I have ever eaten I will share it. For now you are getting my put on your big girl pants and enjoy  recipe and you wont have a kitchen full of dishes to clean up after.

Kitchen tools you will need:

  • dutch oven or other large oven proof pot
  • cutting board
  • knife

Again , I am going to say it, this is pure comfort food. Easy , yummy comfort food. Use as fresh as ingredients as you can, organic and grass fed and feel good about this dish.

Why comfort food? I mean come on I am a health coach right? Yeah, and I know when to feed myself something delish like this. When not to give a hoot about my waistline or the scale. This is more about love, enjoyment, treating myself and relaxing. Yes I can do that with another recipe but it’s been cold here recently and I wanted something warm and well…comforting.

My son is the one who gave it the name “dirty lasagna” because it’s not layered like a normal one. I agreed because my dirty secret is bacon.

image

Dirty Lasagna

preheat oven to 350

  • 5-6 no cook lasagna noodles
  • 26 oz can of plain tomato sauce
  • 3/4 cup of broth OR wine Or water
  • 1 onion diced
  • 3 cloves of garlic minced
  • 1 lb of ground beef or pork
  • 6 or 7 slices of bacon, cut into pieces
  • 3 tsp of basil
  • 3 tsp of oregano
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup of ricotta cheese
  • 2 cups of mozzarella ( shredded)
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  1. In your oven proof pot, heat oil. Add bacon and cook till just about crispy. Add onion and cook for about 2 mins more. Add ground beef and garlic and cook untill beef is browned.
  2. Add tomato sauce and spices. Simmer for about 10 mins.
  3. Add the ricotta cheese and stir until melted and blended in the sauce.
  4. Break up your noodles. Place some in the sauce mixture. Pressing down to the bottom with a spoon. Put in about half of your mozzarella. Add the rest of your noodles. Make sure they are covered with sauce. Top with the rest of your mozzarella.
  5. Bake in oven for 25 mins.
  6. If you want to brown the cheese crank up the oven to 425 and cook for 10 mins more.
  7. Pull from oven and allow to cool for 10-15 mins. Top with fresh grated parm and serve with a salad to round out the meal.

 

Lasagna is one of a few of my favorite comfort foods. What foods do you enjoy eating to give you that cozy warm feeling?

Shelly

Leave a Reply

