Quick and healthy- Blackened Fish Dinner

It’s the official busy time of the year. If you are not busy with sports and college and just fall fun, then there are the holidays coming up. Why do I always think when fall arrives I am going to be able to just hibernate? Maybe in January.

I’ve happily started working at an assisted living center recently. It is so nice to be in a position to use my skills to care for others. I am very happy . The crazy side is once again Ia m finding myself needing quick healthy meals to feed my family. So out has come the crockpot and my quick and easy meals list.  We are also on a budget but that doesn’t mean we can’t eat healthy.

I’ve been shopping the flyers and deals and recently was having a craving for fish. I found a great deal at my local store that actually has given me enough for two meals. I love when that happens.

Fish is a great quick meal that you can cook up in minutes. It’s healthy too and when you get a good deal from your local fish monger that’s even better. I do suggest getting to know your local fish guy. I have one favorite at my local grocery store and then we know another who comes to the summer farmer markets. They will help you pick good fish and let you know what deals they have. Plus, if they are like our guy, they are a lot of fun and you end up stopping to talk to them even when you’re not buying fish.

The following dish will take you a total of maybe 20 mins with prep time.  Serve with a vegetable side and maybe some rice or quinoa and your all set.

image

Blackened Spicy Fish

  • 3-4 fish fillets (I used flounder but tilapia is amazing as is catfish)
  • 2 tablespoons of hot paprika
  • 1 teaspoon orgeano
  • 1 teaspoon basil
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground pepper
  • t teaspoon thyme
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1 tablespoon butter or ghee
  • 3-4 tablespoons of olive oil
  1. In a large shallow bowl mix all your spices. Dredge your fish fillets in the spices and set aside.
  2. In a large skillet or cast iron pan, heat oil and butter over med high heat. Once hot, carefully lay the fish into the oil/butter mixture.
  3. Cook your fish about 3-5 mins per side depending on the thickness of the fish. You know it is done when the fish is flakey.
  4. Serve and enjoy!

 

That’s it! Easy peasy. Next week I’ll share a wicked easy pie crust you can use for the holidays for sweet pies or for a savory chicken pot pie.

 

Shelly

*It might be the holidays but there it’s always a good time to learn to start to eat healthy and lose  the weight you want and feel great. Shoot me an email if your interested in learning how working with a health coach can help you.

shellyowens88@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

