Easy as pie, pie crust. Yes, you can do this!

There were a few things that for the longest time I just avoided making or doing in the kitchen. Slowly, over time I either found a way to actually do these things or just finally got use to them. For example, I just to hate touching raw chicken. Not sure why beyond how slimy it is, but these days, I could careless. Maybe that happened when I learned to butcher a whole chicken into pieces. The other was something as simple as making a pie crust.image

My children could tell you horror stories of me with pie crusts. Occassionally I would find one that only made me slightly crazy.  I was the kind of person who even had trouble with the rolled up frozen pie crusts. I remember one year when it felt like every single pie crust I rolled out and tried to put into the pie dish, fell apart, was to thin or whatever the issue at the moment was. My kids ran up and got another set of pie crusts and offered to help me out. I was in tears it was that bad.  That falls under the visions of perfect family dinners that danced in my head. HA!

But I can really tell you that yes, even you my dear friend can make a wonderful pie crust from scratch in moments and not a tear will fall or a foul word from your lips.

The crazy part? You only need three ingredients.  You will how ever need a few special , but not so fancy tools.

My favorite pastry board has helps to roll out the dough to the perfect size. The other side is an awesome cutting board.

My favorite pastry board has helps to roll out the dough to the perfect size. The other side is an awesome cutting board.

What tools well here’s a quick list:

  • a large bowl
  • measuring cups and spoons
  • a pastry board or flat surface
  • rolling pin
  • pastry cutter or a couple of forks , or a fork and a butter knife

image

Ok after you have those things you will need to gather the following ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups of flour
  • pinch of salt (about 1/4 tsp)
  • one stick of butter soften slightly, that’s 1/2 Cup. (you want it to still be firm but not hard)
  • 1/4 cup of water

So here’s what you do.

  1. In a large bowl place your flour. Add your salt.   Cut your stick of butter into pieces. No worries about how big or small. I just cut it up and  drop it in to the bowl with the flour.  Using a pastry cutter , begin to blend the butter and flour together. You want to cut it in, so to speak. You do this untill the flour looks sort of like bread crumbsimage
  2. Now add your water slowly. You might not even need all of it. It sort of depends on how humid or dry your kitchen is.  You want to work the water into the flour mixture untill you get a nice dough to work with. Form the dough into a ball. image3. Next, lightly flour your pasty board or a smooth flat surface and place your ball of dough on it and roll out the dough with a floured rolling pin to the desired thickness.image

That’s it. When you go to move the dough to your pie dish, just fold the dough in half and then in half again. Place in your pie pan and unfold.

This recipe makes one pie crust so you will need to make a second one if your working the recipe that requires a bottom and top crust.

This dough is great for all kinds of pies. You can use it in savory pies , like a chicken pot pie, too. Also you can substitute the water for buttermilk as well if you wanted.

I am telling you this is so so easy. You really can do this!

Until next time!

Shelly

Leave a Reply

