My Peachy deal makes Asian Apricot chicken thighs

Recently I got a message from a dear friend that there was a deal at our favorite grocery store. I hesitate to call it a grocery store as I usually go there for the meats. Occasionally I pick up vegetables or a few other odds and ends there but I usually go and make a big purchase of meat that once home, I package up into portions for dinners.

So the deal was on a 40 pound box of chicken. I have no clue what I was thinking beyond it was an amazing deal and I had a blast shopping with my friend.  We went home, packaged up our deals and got them ready for the freezer.  Then it hit me I needed to come up with some ideas on how to cook this stash of chicken and do so in a way my family didn’t hate me.

I’ve made some great dishes with my chicken thighs. One came up after I filled in for someone at my part time job and I got to work in the kitchen with our head chef. He was making an apricot glazed chicken and had the sauce on the stove simmering when I inquired what was in it. He shared the ingredients and we got to prepping the chicken for the oven.  Later after the service was over the was leftovers that encouraged the staff to have. I eagerly took two legs and tucked into them in our break room. I knew I would have to make this for my family.

I took his recipe and changed a few things and added a little heat. I knew it would be the perfect addition to the smokey sweetness.

image

 

You can make this healthier by making sure to pick an apricot preserves that has very limited ingredients and contains no high fructose corn syrup or corn syrup for that matter. Easiest way to do that is look for one not made in America.  I normally never say that but other countries have banned the use of HFCS, America has yet to catch on to this. After the recipe for the chicken I will share a healthy side I cooked to go with it. I’ll admit I didn’t measure and am going by estimations for the spices. Play with it to meet your personal tastes.

image

Sweet & Spicy Asian Chicken.

  • 8 chicken thighs
  • 16 oz jar of apricot preserves
  • 1 inch knob of fresh ginger, grated
  • 2-3 tablespoons of soy sauce or tamari
  • 3 teaspoons  Siracha  (omit if you don’t want heat)
  • red pepper flakes to your liking.
  • salt and pepper
  • 4 tablespoons melted butter
  1. Preheat your oven to 375.  Lay your chicken on a baking sheet that has been lightly oiled with olive oil.  With a brush , coat each chicken leg with a little butter and then sprinkle on some salt and pepper. Pop into the oven and cook for 40 mins.
  2. While the chicken is cooking, put a saucepan on the stove and add the jar of apricot preserves, ginger, soy sauce, red pepper flakes and Siracha . Cook on medium low heat untill the preserves have melted into a lovely liquid and the whole thing is warm.
  3. When the chicken is has reached the 40 min mark take the cookie sheet out and coat each piece with the apricot mixture. Put the cookie back in the oven and turn the heat up to 425. Cook for 15 mins more or until the chicken is a lovely golden color. Serve with brown rice and a fresh stirfry vegetable .

image

My side dish was easy and quick. I love Bok Choy and look for ways to use it. I decided to just make a quick stirfry.  It was fast , fresh and delicious.  All you need is :

  • 1 bunch of Bok Choy. slice the white stalks and chop the greens. Keep separate.
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 red  & yellow pepper, sliced
  • 1 small white onion, sliced
  • 2 tablespoons of olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons of sesame oil
  • salt and pepper to taste.
  1. Heat the oil in large saute pan or wok if you have one. Add the white stalks of the Bok Choy and garlic. Cook for 3 mins.
  2. Add the bell peppers and cook until the vegetables become slightly soft.
  3. Add the greens of the Bok Choy and cook untill they are wilted. Season with salt and pepper to taste and drizzle with sesame oil.

 

3 responses

Leave a Reply

