Healthy lasagna in a Crockpot? Yep, it’s good too.

It’s no secret I love my crockpot. It leaves a hot meal for my family on nights I have to work and on days Ijust want to have a little fun and not worry so much about dinner it gives me the freedoms and stress free feeling of not worrying about being home in time to cook dinner.

There are a few things I toss in the crcokpot montly. Meals that are part of my usual menu that are good on the budget and our bodies.  This past week while menu planning , I had a craving for lasagna. I am not even sure where the craving started but it just sounded so good. I wanted healthy lasagna though. During a very high stress and busy time in my family’s life , a coworker gave our family a vegetarian lasagna. It was one of the best lasagnas I have ever had I will have to admit. I was having a craving for it again but wasn’t totally sure what she had used in it. I also had a work schedule that called out for my crockpot to be used.

A little searching and thoughts of what goes into my usual lasagna and I came up with the following recipe. A healthy, vegetarian lasagna for the crockpot . Yes, it really is possible.

image

Easy Crockpot Vegetarian Lasagna

  • 28 oz can of crushed tomatoes
  • 28 oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 4 cloves of garlic crushed
  • 1/4 tsp of red pepper flakes
  • 1 egg
  • 16 oz ricotta cheese
  • 1 medium zucchini , diced
  • 6 baby portabella mushrooms, sliced
  • 2 tsp of basil
  • 2 tsp of oregano
  • 3 cups of fresh spinach leaves
  • 3 cups of mozzarella , shredded
  • 1 box of whole grain lasagna noodles, uncooked

 

  1. In medium bowl, mix together the tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, red pepper flakes and salt and pepper to taste. Give a good stir and set aside.
  2. In another bowl mix together the ricotta ,  egg,  basil, oregano, zucchini and mushrooms.  Set aside.
  3. Spray your crockpot or wipe the inside with a smear of olive oil.
  4. Ladle some of the tomato sauce mixture into the crockpot.
  5. Break up a few lasagna noodles and place them to cover the sauce in the bottom of the pot .
  6. Spread half of the ricotta mixture on the noodles. Top with spinach leaves and then sprinkle with mozzarella.
  7. Break up more noodles to cover the mozzarella and repeat the layering process. (Sauce, ricotta, spinach, mozzarella )
  8. Place another layer noodles on top and top with remaining tomato sauce.
  9. Set your crockpot on low and cook for 5 hrs or set on high and cook for 2 1/2 hours.  Top with additional mozzarella when you serve.

 

One response

Leave a Reply

