Simple, Easy Spicy Shrimp and Noodle soup.

A couple of weeks ago my husband and I went on a rare all day Sunday date. We might go out for dinner or sneak in a lunch date now and then but this was a full blow, all day, nothing to do , hangout and have fun Sunday date. We made the most of it by going to a local aquarium , our first time doing something like that with out any kids with us. What a lot of fun that was. But before the aquarium we hit a really amazing noodle house and had our fill slurping up ramen and pho. I can’t even begin to tell you how amazing the food was. If your ever in South Norwalk, Connecticut, you must hit Mecha Noodle Bar. I wish I had taken pictures of our food but we just dove in and then switched bowls of a bit before switching back. So good.

The weather had turned rather cold recently and I was craving slurpy soup. A trip to the noodle bar was not in the works as for the past couple months I have been working at nursing home and I work a few evening shifts and weekends, and we have an amazing son who plays soccer and is in training camp at the moment.  Through a friend , I did find out about  Asian Supermarket in my town I have never been to. Not sure how that has happened. How I drove past this place for however long it’s been there is beyond me.  So hubby and I went in search of good slurping noodles and a few other goodies. I see a lot of future trips there. What a gold mine of Asian treats. If you live in Milford,Ct you have to check out the Asian Supermarket on the Post Road. Staff was so nice too.

I had gone shopping with a list of ingredients for a recipe for  a good spicy soup , I bought the ingredients but somehow managed to totally loose it.  Oh well I thought. I’ll just wing it. So while watching a good movie and hiding from the subarctic temps outside the following easy soup came to be.

image

Spicy Shrimp and Udon Soup

  • 1 package of udon noodles (use whatever noodle you want)
  • 6 cups of chicken broth (or vegetable stock)
  • 1 1/2 lbs of shrimp , cleaned
  • 2 bell peppers (whatever color you want), diced
  • 2 cloves of garlic , crushed
  • red curry paste
  • chili oil (optional)
  • sesame oil
  • green onions (chopped)
  • fresh cilantro, chopped
  • bean sprouts
  • lime wedges (some for garnish , 2 for the juice )
  1. In good sized soup pot heat up a little olive oil and some chili oil ( I did equal parts). Cook your bell peppers until starting to get soft.
  2. Meanwhile in another pot, heat up water and cook noodles according to the package.
  3. When peppers are soft add, garlic and cook for another 2mins.
  4. Add about 2 tsps of red curry paste to the pot and give a good stir. Then add the chicken broth. Give a good stir and add more curry paste until you get the level of “spice” you want.  Simmer the soup while your noodles are cooking.
  5. When the noodles are are done, drain and rinse under cold water. Pour a few tsp of sesame oil over to coat.
  6. Add the shrimp to the broth and stir. Once the shrimp is cooked, add the noodles and cilantro and a the juice of two lime wedges.
  7. Serve the soup with chopped green onions and bean sprouts and lime wedges.

 

2 responses

Leave a Reply

