Bring on the heat, Spicy Chicken Tacos

Last week I went out to dinner dressed in jeans, a beaded camisol top and sandal high heels. Two days later I am being thankful that I didn’t pack up my boots and sweaters as I watch the snow fall outside my window as I sip coffee.   Yep, it’s spring in Connecticut.

As cheesy as it is , I do like doing the whole Taco Tuesday thing in my house. Just get bored with doing the same old taco with ground beef deal. While I like to make my own seasoning as the packets in the grocery store are salty as all can be it’s just fun to mix it up a little. I do quesadillas , fajitas and whatever taco like food catches me. This past week I saw a recipe in Yoga Journal for “Chicken al carbon” tacos.  Al carbon means cooking over fire. It was cold and icy here and the grill is still packed away in the shed. So I did this dish a little different and I admit I didn’t do things the way the recipe stated.

As we sat down to dinner and tucked in, my sixteen year old son said , “you can forget that it’s cold outside eating these”. I was sweating as I worked on my second taco. He was right. But it wasn’t the kind of heat that takes you out. It was that addictive , I need another one kind of heat.

The original recipe called for you to marinate the chicken and that you could do so overnight. I am not so sure I would do that. I noticed that after 4 hours the citrus was starting to change the color of the chicken. I won’t say it was cooking it like it would on seafood but I think if you let it marinade overnight you might be dealing with mushy chicken. I’ve read that chicken really only needs two hours to completely marinate. Maybe it would be different if I was using larger pieces, instead of the breast tenderloins that were on sale.

image

Spicy Citrus Chicken

  • 2 lbs of chicken breast tenderloins
  • 3/4 cup of orange juice
  • juice from one lime
  • 6-8 cloves of garlic (peeled)
  • 3 jalapeño peppers, cut up
  • 1 bunch of cilantro
  • corn tortillas
  • Lettuce, or any type of slaw or mixed greens.
  • salsa
  • lime wedges
  1. In a food processor or blender, add orange juice, lime juice, garlic, jalapeños , and cilantro. Pulse until smooth.
  2. Place chicken in a glass dish, pour marinade over chicken and cover and refrigerate for 1-2 hrs.
  3. When ready to cook , heat grill and cook untill cooked throughly. Or put tinfoil on a baking sheet, coat with a thin coating of oil, place chicken with a bit of marinade on baking sheet. Broil for 4-5 mins per side or untill cooked throughly through.
  4. I warmed my toritillas in the oven by placing damp paper towels on the bottom of a baking sheet, putting a layer of tortillas then another layer of damp paper towels and placing them in the bottom of the warm oven for 4-5 mins.
  5. Serve the chicken on warm tortillas with greens and a fresh salsa and lime wedges.

 

2 responses

  1. I am currently very much into everything that combines lime and clementine juice, and I love hot spicy food too, so I may try your recipe which marinade is very much alike my crazy momentary addiction! I like that you made your recipe a little different from what the original recipe stated, it sounds really good to me in the end!

Leave a Reply

