Fermented Foods, food, Herbal

The Kombucha Diaries (Pt. 1)

My first batch of kombucha is happily brewing in the warmest room in my house. I keep going in and saying hi to my SCOBY and telling it how lovely it is. Yeah I have officially slipped over the edge to crazy kombucha lady. That’s ok it’s better than having a zillion cats I suppose.

My SCOBY

I was so excited when my SCOBY showed up. What’s a SCOBY? Its the Symbiotic Culture of Bacteria and Yeast that is the culture used in making kombucha tea. It has many names the more common I have heard are Mushroom (no it’s not a mushroom at all) and Mother, as as my kombucha brews my SCOBY will have an offspring, hence the term mother.

Making the tea

Happily Fermenting

So I am currently waiting the 10 days as my SCOBY and the sweet tea mixture ferment. Then I’ll taste and decide if it’s time to flavor it and bottle for give it more time to get it’s funk on. I’ll let you know how it goes.

While doing this I also am doing another “buch” thing. I am participating in the 30 Day Kombucha Challenge. If your looking for a way to drop soda, coffee or some other vice adding in a little kombucha daily can help. I have not drank soda in years. Coffee is not an issue either ( I rarely drink it) for me, so why do this? I wanted to see how kombucha could change my health by drinking it daily for 30 days. Finishing up the first week I have already noticed I have more energy. Not a weird energy either but a sustained happy energy. Hard to explain but it feels great.

Morning cup of Multigreen Kombucha, so yummy.

So come join if your interested even if just to see what this is all about.

Till next time,
Blessings!
Shelly

1 thought on “The Kombucha Diaries (Pt. 1)”

Leave a comment